Meaning of Colour

More than one school of thought or beliefs, is centred on the use of color to enhance mental and physical well-being. One of the best known, is the Hindu system, expressed in the Sanskrit word “chakra”, or “wheel”. Once associated with the chariot wheel, it later became linked to the “Wheel of Light”, the practice of enlightening and healing the body through its seven centres of energy.

Seven Chakras of Energy

The seven main chakras are the
1. root
2. spleen
3. solar plexus
4. heart
5. throat
6. brow
7. crown

These 7 chakras have an actual basis in physical anatomy, relating to the five main nerve ganglia of the spinal system, as well as the upper and lower portions of the brain. Each of the seven areas, has an associated color (and natural elements/gemstones). Western familiarity with the chakra colors, comes mainly from translated Sanskrit texts of the 10th and 16th centuries.

When one or more chakras are out of balance, the associated color is used to bring it back in line, so that the seven energy centres are harmonized. Treatment may be as simple as lying and meditating surrounded by color swatches relating to the seven specific areas, or it may involve direct application of the color, to the area that is seen as out of balance.

RED-first chakra, lower spine

Governing the lower organs such as kidneys, rectum, spinal column, legs, feet and immune system. Physical disorders associated with the first chakra are: lower back pain, sciatica, varicose veins, depression, and immune related problems. Emotional areas touched on are: self image, survival instincts, confidence, family, social interactions.
Red is often the color signifying birth, death and conflict/blood. In some religions, past and present, it is associated with certain deities or holy figures. Red is viewed as a color of action and stimulation, as well. Mars and the element Fire, are both linked by the color red.

ORANGE-2nd chakra, Lower Abdomen

Governing the spleen, mid-spinal area, pancreas, kidneys, adrenal glands, liver, gall bladder, sexual organs, stomach and upper intestinal tract. Physical disorders associated with the second chakra are: gynaecological/obstetrical, pelvic and lower back pain, sex drive, sciatica and urinary dysfunction. Emotional areas touched on are: morality, guilt, responsibility, control, sexual desire, and the ability to be creative.
Orange is not far along the spectrum from red, thus retaining some of its power, but with less noticeable impact. Sometimes used to symbolize the Sun, it is still utilized in some cultures as a protective force that brings illumination. Considered as a source of power, it is often recommended as the color to wear for success and self-confidence, promoting an increased awareness of self-worth.

YELLOW-3rd chakra, Solar Plexus

Governing the liver, gallbladder, mid spine, upper abdomen, spleen, adrenal glands, small intestines and stomach. Physical disorders associated with the third chakra are: hepatitis, cirrhosis, adrenal dysfunction, arthritis, colon diseases and intestinal tumours, stomach ulcers, diabetes, pancreatitis, some eating disorders, and indigestion. Emotional areas touched on are: self-esteem, lack of confidence, fear of failure, sensitivity to criticism, self-image obsessions, fear of rejection.
Yellow is associated with the planet Mercury, and is considered to be a color that projects. It represents security, persuasiveness, confidence, and communication. Also noted as a Sun color, yellow has protective values as well. In some practices, it is thought to be particularly helpful in dealing with the digestive and lymphatic systems.

GREEN-fourth chakra,Heart

Governing the arms, hands, shoulders, ribs, lungs, heart, circulatory system, blood, diaphragm, breasts, and thymus. Physical disorders associated with the fourth chakra are: heart and lung conditions, breast and lung cancers, upper back, thoracic area, respiratory conditions and shoulder problems. Emotional areas touched on are: generosity, love, kindness, compassion, confidence, hope, inspiration, anger, hate, despair, fear and envy.

Green is the color most often associated with nature, or fertility and life, as the green of Spring renews the Earth. Being from the middle of the spectrum, green is considered to be a balancing color, keeping one in tune with the Earth, and promoting an evening out of emotions and actions. Green is often seen linked with red in some religions. Through its connection to the planet Venus, green is symbolic of conception and abundant growth.

BLUE-blue fifth chakra, Throat

Governing the neck, vertebrae, throat, thyroid, trachea, esophagus, mouth, teeth, gums, parathyroid, hyperchalemus. Physical disorders associated with the fifth chakra are: throat infections, tumors and disorders; mouth ulcers, glandular swelling, laryngitis and other voice problems, TMJ, mouth and teeth infections/pain. Emotional areas touched on are: lack of ability to make choices, authority, faith, addiction, creativity, self-expression.
Linked to the planet Neptune, blue is a receptive color that brings peace and calms mental turmoil. It is considered a purifying color, and wearing it is said to promote healing. Symbolizing understanding, peace of mind and self-awareness, it also represents truth and insight.

INDIGO- sixth chakra, Middle of the Forehead

Governing the eyes, ears, nose, brain, neurological connections, brain, pineal and pituitary glands. Physical disorders associated with the sixth chakra are: panic, anxiety, depression, learning disabilities, spinal problems, sensory difficulties, stroke, seizures and brain tumors. Emotional areas touched on are: clarity of thought, judgement, discipline, emotional awareness, confusion, perception of reality.
Indigo is a further extension of blue’s benefits, including the sedative and calming effects. It fosters introspection and intuition, clearing the path to wisdom, healing and spiritual enlightenment. In some practices, indigo is seen as helpful in dealing with abcesses and bleeding.

VIOLET-seventh chakra, The Crown

Governing the centre of the head, everything above mid-ear. Physical disorders associated with the seventh chakra are: over-reaction to sensory stimulus and environment, muscular and skeletal diseases, skin problems, exhaustion that does not have a physical root, depression without a diagnosed source. Emotional areas touched on are: lack of direction, feeling lost as an individual, love for mankind, spiritual discovery, morals and values, ability to see the overall picture in life situations.

The pinnacle of spiritual color energy that starts with blue, violet is associated with both organized religion and more primal Earth oriented sects. Linked to the planets Jupiter and Neptune, and with elements of mysticism and purification, some consider it a powerful color for meditation and psychic work. In holistic practices, violet is used to for muscle spasms and cramping, primary organ distress, and as a relaxing influence.